The Monterrey International Film Festival revealed this Wednesday, August 19 at night to the winners of its sixteenth edition.

With the participation of a jury of international stature, the festival that began last August 13, announced the winners of the Cabrito de Plata, the highest award granted by the ficmonterrey in its various categories in competition, as well as special mentions.

On behalf of the Council for Culture and the Arts (CONARTE), the president, Ricardo Marcos, acknowledged the effort led by Juan Manuel González, director of the ficmonterrey to transform and bring the film festival to the homes of Nuevo León and the world. “I want to recognize the work of Juan Manuel González and all his team, it is easy to say, but it is not when you have to change the whole perspective of what was being done live; unfortunately we are not with you in person, but on screen and this demonstrates the resilience of culture in our state, “said Marcos González.

In the category of Best International Feature Documentary, the winner was My Mexican Bretzel by Nuria Giménez while in the category Best International Feature Fiction, the prize went to Supernova by Bartosz Kruhlik, as determined by the jury formed by Emma Bertrán, screenwriter of films such as “You will know what to do with me”; Maru Garzón, Artistic Director of the Los Cabos International Film Festival and Nicolás Celis, producer and founder of Pimienta Films, producer of “Roma”.

Regarding Mexican feature films, the jury composed of Deborah Micheletti, co-director of the International Biennial Dona i Cinema – Women and Cinema – Woman and Film; Claudio Pereira Navarro, Artistic Director of FICVIÑA -International Film Festival of Viña del Mar, and Oualid Mouaness, writer and director of Lebanese origin, decided to recognize as Best Mexican Feature Documentary the Black Ribbon by Medhin Tewolde Serrano; Best Mexican Feature Film in Sanctorum by Joshua Gil and Best Feature Film in Nuevo León, the Marine and Emerald ribbon by Luis R. Garza.

Medhin Tewolde Serrano’s Black Ribbon was also recognized with the ArtKingdom award given by Arturo González Alonso, CEO of Art Kingdom. Abril Zales, curator and director of La cresta; John Campos Gómez, director of Transcinema International Film Festival (Peru); and Sofia Carrillo, director and animator were the ones who decided the winners of the KinoStart selection that awarded Best Short KinoStart the film Identification Loss of Axel González.

The winning short films were:

Best International Short Film: To The Dusty Sea by Héloïse Ferlay; Best International Short Film: DIYSEX by Maria Lorente, Juno Álvarez, Yaiza De Lamo, Mariona Vázquez; Best International Short Film: Masmelos by Duván Duque; Best Mexican Short Film: Cascarita by Jim Barrera; Best Mexican Short Film Documentary: Boca de Culebra by Adriana Otero; Best Mexican Short Film: Cannibalism by Carlos Mendoza Guillén and Best Short Film by Nuevo León: Güelito by Emilio Guerra.

These films were evaluated by a jury made up of Anabel Caso, content director of Landia México and producer Home Films; Felipe Montoya, head of programming at the Bogotá Short Film Festival – BOGOSHORTS; and Ignacio Hernández, executive producer of Para Amanda Films and distributor at SouthBorder Distribution.

To conclude the Gala broadcast through all the digital platforms of the festival, it was the director of the festival who thanked the public, members and members of the team for the collaboration to make this edition of the event possible.

“This was an unusual festival, a forced change that took us to their homes and shows movies that we like very much. Thank you for receiving us!” said when inviting the public to continue this Thursday enjoying the activities that are planned and the exhibition of the winning films. It is worth mentioning that there were films that received honorary mentions and that are specified in the general list of winners.



Best International Feature Documentary

My Mexican Bretzel by Nuria Giménez

Jury Mention for International Feature Fiction

A White, White Day by Hlynur Pálmason

Best International Fiction Feature

Supernova by Bartosz Kruhlik


Jury Mention to The Lost Children by Emanuel Sena Galeana (Autonomous University of Nuevo León)

Best Short KinoStart

Identificación pérdida by Axel González (Cinema Universidad)


Jury Mention Ami Lindholm’s International Short Animation Film

Mother and Milk

Best International Short Animation Film

To The Dusty Sea by Héloïse Ferlay

Best International Short Documentary

DIYSEX by Maria Lorente, Juno Álvarez, Yaiza De Lamo, Mariona Vázquez

Jury Mention International Short Fiction

Anna by Dekel Berenson

Film Best International Short Film

Masmelos by Duván Duque

Jury Mention Mexican Animation Short Film

Hogar De Mis Recuerdos by Javier Méndez Lafón

Best Mexican Animation Short Film

Cascarita by Jim Barrera

Best Mexican Short Film Documentary

Boca de Culebra by Adriana Otero

Best Mexican Fiction Short Film

Cannibalismo by Carlos Mendoza Guillén

Best Short Film of Nuevo León

Güelito by Emilio Guerra


ArtKingdom Award

Best Mexican Feature Documentary

Negra by Medhin Tewolde Serrano

Jury Mention for Mexican Documentary Feature Film

Dibujos contra las Balas by Alicia Calderón

Best Mexican Feature Documentary

Negra by Medhin Tewolde Serrano

Jury Mention to Feature Mexican Fiction

Marino y Esmeralda by Luis R. Garza

Best Mexican Feature Film in Fiction

Sanctorum by Joshua Gil

Best Feature Film in Nuevo León

Marino y Esmeralda by Luis R. Garza